Beijing

Posted: January 13, 2011 in Travel

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m going to start off by saying Beijing has been one of the most unsanitary place and contains some of the most rudely people I’ve visited and met thus far but at the same time full of culture/history, extreme artifacts/monuments with great tasting and inexpensive food.  “Shop till you drop” maybe the theme for  most foreigners traveling here but for me it was a time to enjoy the sites I’ve anticipated in my wishes for such a long time.  The Radegast Hotel has been the most woeful hotel I’ve stayed in to date. The services were top-notch and the hostess were very pleasant which also stood true for our tour guide named Apple who spoke perfect english and really told me the ins and outs of Chinese culture and stereotypes.  I actually felt like a star being in Beijing; not because I’m conceded or well ahead of myself but the people themselves actually made me feel this way.  Beijing seems to be a tourist location for people all throughout China and the rest of Asia and very little Black people settled or roamed there.  Too often people would stare as I walked by; as I stood in the subway car or even at a restaurant. To take it further; others would actually ask to take a photo with me. It was a nuisance at first but I quickly became accustomed to it and played along.  The wife became quite annoyed by the stares and aggressive nature of the locals but I insisted her to switch her mentality to NY mode and everything will be all good, LOL.

Duck dishes are everywhere and of course I had to indulge in the opportunity. Not because it was a “must to do” thing being in China but I actually like duck and I was eager to take advantage of how inexpensive the food was.  live scorpions were also on the menu and yes! this is a place where you can gain 15 lbs in one week! I have a goal to travel and visit the ancient and/or modern world wonders and the Great Wall was at the top of the list. I’ve visited the largest ferris wheel in the world located in Singapore but it’s nothing compared to the magnitude and history of the Great Wall. There is no way to travel even half the wall but this is not needed to experience the hike and catch more than a glimpse of the work that went into such a task.  Besides the Great Wall were many ruins, shrines, castles and parks to visit that’s guaranteed to astound you. Also, the jade factory where the Olympic medals were made is located here and I was excited to have a chance to visit the actual place and even purchase authentic jade.  I have to say, Beijing was a great voyage! Although the smog and traffic jams were unbearable at times; I was still able to navigate the subway like a real New Yorker (of course the real navigator was the wife) and enjoy what Beijing had to offer.

Leave a comment