I’m Ready

Posted: December 22, 2010 in MusiK

Back Dated

A dope, old school track that was fun making. I teamed up with the homie G-Gunz and a local Okinawan rapper that goes by the name Kakumakushaka. I met G-Gunz through a mutual friend and heard that he was into rapping. I’m always interested in doing music with various artist so I asked him to joined forces on a couple of tracks with me, so there are more to come besides this one.  G-Gunz has been global like myself but considers VA home. Hard to say whether he has a southern or east coast style, but I knew that he would compliment the track well.  Everywhere I go and create a project I try to find a local artist to rap in their native language as a feature on my album.  this adds to diversity and helps to challenge the boundaries of hip-hop.  This is what drove me to search for local artists through my wife’s myspace page (since I no longer own one) and here is where I stumbled upon Kakumakushaka. I did not think he would be interested or respond to my email but I gave it a shot.  2 weeks later I received a response in which he asked for the beat which happens to be another DJ Corbett production; and he asked that I explain the concept of the song. The language barrier was made simpler through the internet and free translation sites, LOL. Now on with the track…the track is about making it and how people may criticize and say you’re not ready or will not succeed in the game but deep down you know you have what it takes to get there and succeed. I think too often people are more prone to putting down others instead of providing the much-needed support; and this is exactly what I tried displaying in this track.  As DJ Corbett said on the hook: “I am not the pilot but I am on some fly shit”.

Ichi

Lyrics I’m Ready

Leave a comment